» First ACM Awards Handed Out

The Academy of Country Music has announced winners of some non-televised awards, and they include Carrie Underwood, Toby Keith, Merle Haggard and Kris Kristofferson.

Carrie picked up the Gene Weed Special Achievement Award for “unprecedented, unique and outstanding individual achievement in country music.” She joins Garth Brooks, Willie Nelson and George Strait, to name a few who have previously won this award.

Toby Keith and Ronnie Milsap won the Career Achievement Award, which honors an individual artist, duo, group or multiple artist collaboration that has advanced the popularity and acceptance of country music.

Merle is adding the Crystal Milestone Award to his trophy case. It commemorates the specific, remarkable achievement of 50 years in country music.

Kris is picking up the Poet’s Award this year along with Jack Clement (awarded posthumously), Dean Dillon, and Buck Owens (awarded posthumously). The Poet’s Award honors outstanding musical and/or lyrical contributions to the field of country music.

Fan voting for the Entertainer of the Year and New Artist awards starts Monday at VoteACM.com.

The 2014 ACM Awards will be handed out Sunday, April 6 in Las Vegas.

Related Articles


Upcoming Events

Sign up for the Paw Print

Please read our privacy policy